Broken Pottery

December 19, 2011

General Life, Loss, Sorrow

“Then Job took a piece of broken pottery and scraped himself with it as he sat among the ashes.” Job 2:8

At present, I feel like I could use some of Job’s broken pottery.

I have been quietly battling an undiagnosed skin condition since then end of June, about 6 months now.  But especially in the last month it has become so inflamed that the jagged edges of Job’s fragmented ceramics seem like ideal relief to the unending, painful itch covering much of my body.

This ailment has been causing me to reconnect to Job’s story again with fresh eyes.

The story of Job has been prominent in our journey; Judson loved the story of Job long before he suffered, Job’s perspective is the opening theme of Jud’s book, I have studied the story in depth, and I have spoken about Job in various contexts.

But one thing remains very clear to me…Job knew far greater pain than I can even imagine.  He lost all his children.  He completely lost his livelihood.  He got agonizing sores all over his body, from the bottom of his feet to the crown of his head.  And it all happened concurrently.

Yet, in the midst of everything, Job recognized that to accept the good from God we must also accept the impact of evil running rampant in our world and the suffering that ensues.  In Job’s suffering, he did not sin; his heart was filled with gratitude.  The Great Sufferer recognized that whether God gives or takes away, the appropriate response is worship and praise for the blessed Giver of life and breath (Job 1:21, 2:10, and 12:10).

Job had such amazing perspective in his unfathomable suffering and it brings me comfort to engage his story.

When I find myself sitting in the ashes, trying to make sense of my own journey of loss, heartache, and recent challenges, as I reach for a piece of jagged pottery to soothe, I see how Job actually became like that rough earthenware…where his brokenness, through God’s redemptive plan, has brought comfort to many who have suffered after him.

The God who is greater than the thunderstorm (Job 38) can do just that kind of work in all of us who are broken vessels…

Join me on this Journey Toward Wholeness...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Broken Pottery”

  1. Anya Wimberly Says:

    Hi. I’m new to your blog and to Judson’s story. So many feelings, and so little words. I think you are amazing. I’m also a new mom. I have twin girls 3.5 months old. I spend time with you and Judson. I follow you through brokeness and despair into new depths of love and faith. I am understanding life, death and Christ’s sacrifice through you and with you. I love you and your beloved son.

    • CLevasheff Says:

      Anya…welcome to my blog and thank you for your words of encouragement. I am so blessed by your willingness to engage Judson’s life and my journey, especially as you are venturing into parenthood with your precious girls. Thank you!!

  2. Dorci Says:

    I’ve been dealing with an undiagnosed something for almost 8 years now. There are a lot of symptoms, but pain is the one that gets my attention the most. It’s been quite the journey to learn to trust God even when He has not healed me, even when my friends don’t understand or seem to have any compassion, even when my family doesn’t “get it” and I can’t always rely on them to help do things around the house when I can’t. But it’s been a good journey. The depth of understanding pain and the lonliness that comes along with it has helped to deepen my level of compassion for those who are going through suffering of any kind. And it’s helped to understand God as He is, not as I want Him to be. One book that’s helped me immensely is The Gospel According to Job by Mike Mason. It’s a devotional that compares the sufferings of Job with what we learn in the gospels of Christ. I pray the Lord heals you and you find great comfort!
    Love,
    Dorci

    • CLevasheff Says:

      Dorci, I am sorry you have been dealing with an undiagnosed condition for so long. I can only imagine how difficult it has been. But your words are so true as you reflect the truth of the Gospel!

  3. Princess Iliana Says:

    job’s story is my favorite ! I go back to him when i face trouble and remind myself how he stood strong and still with God regardless of how he felt and what he endured, thats why god knew he was his faithful servant.

